Cultivating Compassion

Image

Cultivating compassion has always been one of my biggest struggles. My culture rewards people who produce results, regardless of who you may have to step on to make it happen along the way. Success became my Tao. Money became my God. Compassion was little more something I would fake in order to close a sale.

And the hole inside of me grew.

As I explore this new path of love and peace, I am delighted by the rewards I receive through the cultivation of compassion. One of my very favorite ways to meditate is to become mindful of my loving actions toward others, the loving words that I use to build others up, and truly listening to others – truly being present for them. Being present for another person is one of the most compassionate and loving gifts that you could ever offer them. If you notice that someone is acting in a negative way, understand that it is likely a product of their hurts, and show them love.

And please, if you would, share with me the ways that you enjoy being compassionate.

May you find peace in the bloom of each new moment 🙂

11 thoughts on “Cultivating Compassion

  1. I’ve always found that if you see others as a mirror of yourself, practice complete and true oneness, then not showing compassion to others is really hurting yourself. I try to remind myself that you never know what is happening in someone’s life or what is going through their minds when they do something that you find annoys you : A person cutting you off in traffic for example could be rushing to their daycare to pick up their sick child. A person not getting up to let an elderly person sit down on the bus may be deep in sorrow over a loved one in the hospital or tremendously stressed over a final exam at school… I try to remind myself of that every time I feel judgment and anger swell in me.

    Thank you for sharing!

  2. It’s true: when we put out something to the Universe, it conspires to quickly fulfill our wishes. You came to my blog for a purpose – to deliver me the message that my new venture into finding compassion is not a solo journey. Thank you for the blessings, Friend, and for what you share with us all.
    Namaste ❤
    Wind

  3. I agree that listening and being present for others is an amazing thing. I give a lot and do a lot for others, but due to my family of four talking all at the same time all the time growing up, I have a tendency to interrupt. It’s not only rude, it’s dismissive at times. I don’t intend it, but I have realized I need to intend to listen in order to communicate the respect and compassion to others in the way I feel it inside. I was very struck by Johnny Clegg’s (an African singer) description of his encounters with Nelson Mandela. You can probably still find the interview on NPR. He said that Mr. Mandela didn’t talk pleasantries and typical expected conversation when he met you. Instead he talked directly to you and asked questions about things you would know about, gaining information and getting to know you, not just passing time. He was amazed by that in such a busy man who met so many people. He also said that Mr. Mandela waited for you to completely finish what you were saying before he continued to speak. What a beautiful thing to give others! I’m working on it, and it’s not easy. Thanks for your inspiring post! I’m glad you came by my blog so I could find yours.

  4. I think we need some age and some wisdom on us before we find a lot of compassion for others. Since I have become disabled and older, I find I am much more compassionate with people. I have patience for the old lady at the head of the line trying to understand how the ATM machine works. I still hesitate to actually ‘interfere’ in the affairs of strangers, I am patient and understanding.

  5. Maybe compassion is something that is just built into my psyche, I became a nurse after all. But I get the biggest buzz out of being compassionate. It’s mutually beneficial. I truly believe that if I do good things, then good things will happen to me. I am almost always mindful of the possible consequences that my actions may have on others. It sounds like a tired cliche maybe, but I really do try to ‘do a good deed everyday’. I think if you can do or say something nice, then you should do it. That’s not to say that I’m a saint, and achieve a good deed every day, but I try.

  6. Compassion is part of my journey too. The road has turned from being compassionate to others to being compassionate towards myself. I believe self compassion is one of the biggest steps to spiritual freedom and true contentment in the highs and lows of life.

  7. Val brings up a great point about compassion towards self. It’s sometimes easier to be compassionate towards others but at some point you reach a place where you know that in order to feel it even more deeply, you have to practice compassion to yourself. That’s a hard one because our society is so rigged with fixing ourselves.

Leave a Reply

