Interbeing and Interdependence

To meditate on Interbeing makes me smile. It chips away at the conditioning that led me to believe that it was me versus the world.  I like to reflect on a passage from Thich Nhat Hanh’s ‘Miracle of Mindfulness”:

“Consider the example of a table. The table’s existence is possible due to the existence of things which we might call “the non-table world”: the forest where the wood grew and was cut, the carpenter, the iron ore which became the nails and screws, and countless other things which have relation to the table, the parents and the ancestors of the carpenter, the sun and rain which made it possible for the trees to grow. If you grasp the table’s reality then you see that in the table itself are present all those things which we normally think of as the non-table world. If you took any of those non-table elements and returned them to their sources – the nails back to the iron ore, the wood to the forest, the carpenter to his parents – the table would no longer exist.”

Mediating on this passage has had a profound impact on how I view the world and how I am connected to the things in it. If any of the experiences that I counted as “bad” or evil” in my life were to have never taken place, I would not be the person that I am today. Funerals, fights, and surgeries have shaped me as much as the birth of my children, my wedding, or going to college.

I am reminded of that morsel of Shakespearian truth “…there is nothing good or bad, but thinking makes it so.”

May you find peace in each moment today, friends.

3 thoughts on “Interbeing and Interdependence

Leave a Reply

